It happened! For the first time in years!

Do you remember when you were a child and you just weren’t tired? How did you pass the time? Did you close your eyes and try to sleep like the little angel you hoped your parents believed you to be? Ha! Of course you didn’t.

Did you play your Nintendo Game Boy, using the light of the corridor to light your screen? Or did you read?

o-reading-in-bed-facebook

From when I was about six up until I was about 14, I read.

The landing light was always on until my dad went to bed in the wee hours, so I’d use the corridor’s glow to read until I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Jacqueline Wilson and Enid Blyton were my favourites – I’d cry for Wilson’s unfortunate child characters, or go on adventures or attend boarding school with Blyton’s creations.

I didn’t realise it at the time, but it’s probably that habit that caused me to need glasses from a young age. A small price to pay.

Anyway, now that we’re adults, such luxuries aren’t as readily available. We’re genuinely tired when we go to bed, and possibly read a few pages or watch videos on YouTube until we pass out.

I’m part of The Write Life‘s review team, and recieved a book called ‘Motherhoodby Lindsey Williams. Last night at about 10pm I opened my Kindle and started to read, expecting to read a few chapters before falling asleep.

untitled
Motherhood by Lindsay Williams

By 1am, I’d finished it.

The book was quite good, and I later left a four-star review on Amazon. After I’d reached the last page, I grinned at the ceiling. I’d done it! After years of thinking it would never happen to me again, I had read a full book in one night! I’d been successfully swooped into Jess’ nightmare of being kidnapped, reading from cover to cover in one sitting. It felt wonderful.

Ms. Williams, if you’re reading this, thank you. Your book was great.

Have you read an entire book in one or two sittings? Was the author pleasantly surprised at the speed in which you read it? Tell me!

3 thoughts on “It happened! For the first time in years!

Leave a Reply

